Use It Or Loose It

This week I heard the sad news that our neighbours Warrington Skate Academy was closing down. Now I am not sure of any of the details of the situation, but was infuriated with some of the Facebook comments.

“Why would you do this”

“This isn’t fair, my son loved it when he came 2 years ago”

“Its just selfish”

How many of these people actually went and spent a little of their had earned cash?

On Academy Street there were 4 now 3 Independent businesses, all struggling because of the redevelopment work, again today the road is closed for another 2 weeks!

It reminds me of the Just A Card campaign, check it out here

Its about a beautiful card shop, that had to close due to financial reasons, after the owners said:-

“If everyone who’d complimented our beautiful gallery had bought just a card we’d still be open.”

In Summer 2015 things were in a desperate situation at Dolly’s, The School Summer Holiday had been like a baron wasteland at the shop, in 6 weeks, not 1 customer through the door.

I just simply didn’t have any money for rent. I had no choice but to ask for help. I launched “A Tip For A Tip”

Everyday I am thankful for all those lovely people who donated and kept me in business.

Thankfully Dolly’s is in a much better place now, I still havn’t taken a wage for 2 years, but Dolly’s now has its regulars, its a social place, and the love of sewing is growing within our area. Exactly what I wanted.

Dolly’s will never make me rich, but it will defiantly make my life richer.

I think it is important to shop local especially in Warrington  during the redevelopment.

So instead of taking to Facebook when an independent business has closed down, lets support them whilst they are still open.

Use It Or Loose It.

TTFN Linsey @Dolly’s xx

Leave a Reply

